Overview Effect

Release Date: November 4th 2016

Cognitive Shift Recordings and One Little Indian

Cognitive Shift Recordings debut release will be the first album from composer Roger Goula; Overview Effect. The album encapsulates the ethos of the new label, bridging the gap between modern classical and electronic music, creating a cohesive work that is both entirely of the moment and timeless. The record’s stunning classical string instrumentation is performed by the illustrious quartet of Thomas Gould, Peter Gregson, Lucy Railton and Stephen Upshaw.

“I am very, very happy with the way the album has turned out. Overview Effect is a perfect primer for the future sound of Cognitive Shift and sets a high standard for our subsequent releases to match.” Bob McDade, founder of Cognitive Shift Recordings.

When Roger was approached by to create an album, he presented the concept of the ‘Overview Effect’. This is a psychological phenomenon experienced by astronauts when viewing Earth from a distance, allowing them to see the entire planet surrounded by the endless black void of space. This can cause a cognitive shift within the minds of the astronauts, giving them a completely new perspective of life, Earth and humanity. Around this concept, the album and label formed, with the aim of recreating this psychological shift through the power of sound and music.

The album is released November 4th on all digital outlets and from all good physical retailers.

“Canvasses of immense scope, stark beauty and – at times – thrilling drama” A Closer Listen

“[this] explores a relationship between swells of warm strings and synthesizers—melodic, haunting, and eerie—a musical soundscape that paints a vivid picture of the void of space.” VICE

“The New Classical: how the next generation of composers or labels is challenging classical music’s status quo” The Independent

“Part of a wave of modern classical composers – think Nils Frahm, Olafur Arnalds – exploring fresh territory, Roger Goula has an approach all his own. Lush strings are set against corrosive, distorted noise, with the track pirouetting towards weightlessness.” Clash

“A beautifully wretched affair, enveloping the listener in shrouds of bone-chilling strings, swathes of monochrome ambience and a sprinkling of electronic debris” The Most Radicalist

“Mind blowing” Mary Anne Hobbs for BBC 6 Music

1. Son Will Wake Up
2. Awe

1. Looking Back To Self Awareness
2. Cognitive Shift

1. Overview Effect
2. Pale Blue Dot

1. Something About Silence
2.If Nothingness Disappears

Cognitive shift Recordings

One Little Indian


8 tracks, Cognitive Shift Recordings and One Little Indian, 2016

Order the double 12'' Vinyl and CD Here
Listen Digitally Here